I Like to Move it, Move it!

Motivation. Some people say it’s location, location, location…but I say it’s motivation, motivation, motivation! I believe that is one of the biggest keys to success whether it be success in health, fitness, finance, business, personal, etc. It all boils down to your motivation. If you have ill-intended motivation…you will usually get bit in the ass. If you have positive and uplifting motivation, it may take awhile…but you’re likely to success…eventually. =)

It’s not always the type of motivation that you have…but it’s also a matter of having motivation at all!! Many times for fitness and health gaining and keeping positive motivation is one of the biggest areas most are lacking. Every year, here’s the story: Oh it’s a new year! I’m setting a resolution to lose weight. Hello gym membership! Even though I haven’t worked out more than lifting the TV remote…I think I’ll work out every day for like 2 hours, this is going to be GREAT! Two weeks later…I’m tired and I just realized (even though the cycle repeats every year) that I hate working out. And cue the gym membership payments but no actual visit to said gym.

It’s hard to be motivated and stay motivated for the long-term. Even the top athletes representing the great U.S. of A. have had their moments of weakness when motivation was lacking. And do you think they threw in the towel and said, ah heck with it! This is too hard. Besides, I’ll never be an Olypimian! I think not!! However, I bet those that did throw in the towel are sitting on their couch at home kicking themselves saying, I was so close…if I just would have given it one more shot that could be me. Of course, I don’t expect any olypimians current, past, or future to be asking my advice or reading my blog…but that doesn’t mean whatever YOU are working towards isn’t a goal worth working your ass off to acheive – literally and figuratively.

Here’s a few tips to keep your motivation level up!

Motivation Tip #1: Modify your Surroundings

When you have a goal, it is smart to be constantly reminded of that goal. I recommend surrounding yourself with constant motivations revolving around the goal. For example, if you have a fitness goal – add FB pages, groups, and friends who are fitness oriented and minded, share in their stories, and interact with their social media. The same goes for finances, spirituality, career, etc. The things you surround yourself with are the things you become. Being surrounded by even the constant discussion of a topic will cause you to be continuously or at the least more often thinking about that topic. If you are thinking more about a topic you will start to see more opportunities to grow and improve in that area that you would not have seen before. Another way to surround yourself is through visual images. I like to change my computer desktop to different inspirational or motivational posters/sayings so that everytime I close a window (internet), I’m encouraged to keep walking through another door until I reach my goal. As one saying gets old and the motivation wears off I hit-up pinterest in search of a new poster to refresh and renew my motivation and energy level for that goal. Just like you surround yourself with the people you love and family photos – start to surround yourself with the activities you love and want to improve in. Keep shoving it down your own throat just like you shove vegetables down your kids’ throats!

Motivation Tip #2: Motivation Nation

Just like I recommended in the post about budgeting, it is just as important to have a motivational buddy or resource you can turn to. Typically people are more successful in groups. As the saying goes, it takes a village to raise a child. So what’s the harm in asking that village to help achieve your weightloss and life goals? Seek out friends and family who are in the fitness zone already and ask their advice, encouragement, and support. You don’t have to be on the same level physically as someone in order for him/her to help you reach your goals. In the past, I’ve responded to more fit friends this way- well you’re a lot more fit than I am…so I don’t want to work out with you. And guess where it got me? On the couch feeling sorry for myself and not working out at all. Well GET OVER IT! You know what happened when I got over myself, sucked up my pride, tucked my tail between my legs and asked for help to those same friends? I MADE PROGRESS! HOLY COW!! What a concept. If you are lucky enough to have friends or family in your life holding out a helping hand…grab on to that sucker for dear life! A support system is invaluable to your success, no matter the area of life in which you wish to achieve it.

Motivation Tip #3: It’s only a dream until you WRITE IT DOWN! Only then does it become a GOAL!

It is so important to have goals. If you don’t know where you are or where you are going…how will you know if you ever get there??? But remember, a goal is not just something you dream up one night while watching the Olympics on TV. “Yes – I think I go to the Olympics one day”. Ok…great for you. How? How will you get there? It’s not just about having an end goal in mind…it’s also about the journey to the goal. Write down these steps. Step 1 – Pick a sport. Step 2 – Try sport. Step 3 – Find a coach. Etc, etc, etc. Next – put dates by each step. Step 1 – Pick a sport by October 1, 2012. Step 2 – Try sport by November 1, 2012. Step 3 – Find a coach by January 1, 2013. Etc. And there you have it..a goal sheet. That wasn’t so hard now was it?!! As you progress along your journey, it is wise to keep track of how you have done along the way. For example: Step 1 – Pick a sport by 10-1-2012; Chose volleyball. Turns out, I suck at volleyball trying new sport tomorrow. Let’s give cycling a try. Going through this exercise will really help you realize how far you have come and how much more your body was able to achieve that you may have originally thought. It will also help you shape goals for the future by understanding your body more thoroughly.

Motivation Tip #4: Turns Excuses into Energy

I swear, individuals trying to lose weight or save money are the best at excuses! There is ALWAYS a reason why it won’t work! The most frequent excuse I hear is: well… I had a really busy day and I’m too tired to work out now or it’s too late or I still have laundry to do or blah blah blah. I stopped listening at ‘well’. Instead, use all those excuses and turn them into energy for the good. If you know you always have a busy day and will most likely arrive home to late to work-out…do it in the morning before your day starts and go to bed right away when you get home. I mean, you did claim to be tired so why are you up watching TV?? If you know you can’t run a marathon than just start running. When I first started running people asked, why did you start doing running; what got you started? I always respond, “because I am a horrible runner.” Well, then why would I run if I KNOW I’m terrible at it? That’s exactly it! If you know you can’t speak Spanish but would like to…shouldn’t you start studying and practicing Spanish? So, I started studying and practicing running. Now, I’m an ‘OK’ runner. Wahoo! Progress! That’s better than horrible. hah. Here’s another excuse: “I don’t want people to watch me.” Oh bologne. Everyone wants attention, just not everyone is able to admit it. Work-out so that YOU ARE NOT ASHAMED when people look at you. Work-out so you are PROUD of your body and not afraid of it. Take PRIDE in the fact that you are CHANGING YOUR LIFE…no matter where you start. Oh I love this excuse: “It hurts.” My response?? GOOD! That means it’s working, keep going!!! “But..But..it’s too hard.” Good thing we get to practice it and you get to keep trying!!! I tell that one to my gymnastics students all the time. And 99% of the time they acheieve the new skill once they realize I won’t let them quit because of a false excuse. Feel free blog readers of the world – throw your BEST excuses at me and I’ll turn them into positive reasons to keep working!

Turn all of those negatives thoughts into the reasons why you should keeping moving forward!

Live a Healthy Life,
Kristin