Home » Attitude » Day 5 – EAT CLEAN!!

Day 5 – EAT CLEAN!!

Last 24 hours!

Another positive day on the clean eating frontier. I didn’t have ANY, not one, mini chocolate chips yesterday. Wahoo! Progress! 🙂 Last night for dinner…we experimented with meatloaf. I say experimented because neither one of us had ever made meatloaf before. Sure, I’ve seen my mom makes it millions of times…but that was the extent of my involvement. Watching. The boyfriend and I headed to the store to get ingredients…but didn’t bring a recipe or look at one before we left. Not smart. Luckily, we live in the age of technology so I pulled up recipes on my phone. All of which included ingredients one or both of us don’t like/eat. I don’t like ketchup, the boyfriend doesn’t like mustard, and we’re not buying ‘onion soup’ or barbeque sauce. We are trying to eat clean here!! Duh!

So, we decided to have some fun with it and make our own version of clean’ish’ meatloaf! I don’t consider milk part of my clean eating because it has to be processed and I don’t like waste, so we used up some bread that had been in the freezer…so this meal was clean’ish’ because we used milk & bread. But MUCH healthier than any of the recipes that I could find. They all called for soy sauce, brown sugar, ketchup, and several other ingredients that are very high in either sugar or salt. No bueno. It was a lot of fun. We picked up some random vegetables plus using some that I had at home and threw it all in a bowl with some spices and thyme (if you look close at the ‘BEFORE’ picture…you can see a sprinkle of the thyme). We paired it with the rest of the french bread loaf and homemade salsa. Just splendid!

This morning I reeeeallly wanted Subway. Since I didn’t get it yesterday and today I remembered my purse, I felt I deserved it! 🙂  And then I was reminded (by the boyfriend) that I have already had cheat days this week with my mini chocolate chip fiasco! This is why it’s important to have an accountability partner, folks!! Especially when you are trying to change your behavior, people tend to get themselves either too much credit or not enough. It’s always a good idea to have someone backing you up and reminding you of your goals. Thanks boyfriend! 🙂 I grabbed my fruit (banana and apple) and headed out the door. Breakfast consisted of a banana with peanut butter and I plan to eat the apple this afternoon…however, I’ve run out of peanut butter. Sad. 😦   Lunch today was tuna & salsa on celery sticks. Delish.

This weekend we are experimenting more with sweet potatoes. I believe there’s a sweet potato hummus and something to do with oatmeal… Also we are making a ‘clean’ banana bread! I’m super excited about that one!! It’ll be delicious. I’ll be back on Monday with weekend updates and new recipes!! Have a spectacular day and weekend!

Make good choices. 🙂

Kristin

MeatloafBEFORE

20130322-135349.jpg

Meatloaf: AFTER

20130322-135405.jpg

Leave a Reply

